• Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon


June 26 2021 


The Kidder County Classic is a self supported bike event on the gravel roads and hills north of Robinson, North Dakota. The rolling prairie landscape unique to North Dakota and riding it by bike is challenging and fun. Sign-in and post race festivities will be held at Hanson's Bar, the oldest and coolest bar in North Dakota. The KCC is free event.


The long course is roughly 70 miles over the hills north of Robinson with a nice climb over Wagon Wheel Hill

The short course is 22 miles of rolling prairie also north of town. Riders can expect great views of the land and wildlife

The Race
  • Sign-up via the link on this website and organizers will contact riders prior to the event with further details 

  • 70 mile: Sign-up and check-in starts at 07:00 at Hanson's Bar. All riders should be at the start/finish line at 07:45

  • 22 mile: Sign-up and check-in starts at 10:00 at Hanson's bar. All riders should be at the start-finish line by 11:45.​

  • This is an unsupported ride. You are 100% responsible for yourself

  • This is an open course. Be prepared to share the roads with vehicles and critters

  • Wear a helmet

  • Be respectful to the land and landowners

  • Be prepared for anything - mechanical issues, hydration, food

  • A signed release form is required

  • A bag drop will be provided mid-way for the long course

  • The 70-mile race starts at 0800, and the 22-mile race starts at approximately 1200, both with a neutral rollout for 1 mile, a.k.a. the first turn after the gravel starts. An air horn will sound and it's HAMMER TIME

  • Plan to stick around afterward for food, beverages, and flying objects

  • You WILL need one or a combination of a GPS cycle computer, Cue Cards with a calibrated non-GPS cycling computer, or know the course by heart. Cue Cards will be posted on the website before the event.

  • Come prepared for anything and plan food/hydration according to conditions and your needs. Bring a maintenance kit (tubes, CO2, pump, tools, patches, etc.) and have a backup plan in case of a major breakdown. Unless you use Verizon, cellular service is spotty at best.

  • A drop bag option is available for the 70-mile option, bring your musette size bag with anything you will need for the last half of the race to sign-ups. We will load them up before the racers take off and will have them ready for you around mile 33. There is NOT a drop bag option for the 22-mile race.

  • Medals and prizes will be awarded to the top 3 finishers in the men's/women's categories for both races, also the 1st place winner of men's/women's 70-mile route will have their name engraved in the Kidder County Classic trophy. This trophy will remain at Hanson's bar, to tell the world of your amazing feat, for all of eternity.

  • 70-mile podium: $50/1st, $25/2nd, $10/3rd for both mens and women's races. Swag for the 22 mile top finishers.

  • $50 cash goes to the rider who breaks the 70-mile course record for men's (4:01:40) and women's race (6:03:00).


There are lodging options in and near Robinson as well as several hotels in Bismark and Jamestown. Free camping will be available in Robinson​ although access to hookups will be limited. Carols Kitchen is open for breakfast and lunch.

Signup (2021 Dates TBD)
  • 22 Mile Course
    Sat, Jun 26
    Hanson's Bar
    Jun 26, 11:40 AM
    Hanson's Bar, 123 Main St, Robinson, ND 58478
    This course goes north out of Robinson over hills and around Long Alkaline Lake.
  • 70 Mile Course
    Sat, Jun 26
    Hanson's Bar
    Jun 26, 7:40 AM
    Hanson's Bar, 123 Main St, Robinson, ND 58478
    A challenging ride with lots of hills including a climb up Wagon Wheel Hill
2022 Roster



2021 Results


Jared Frank 4:05  - Course Record!

Jasper Klein 4:22

Simon Murphy 4:36

Perry Freidig 4:45

Pat White 4:49

Scott Jensen 4:53

Tristan Troftgruben 4:57

Michael Isaak 4:59

Colin Frank 5:07

Jerry Trotter 5:08

Chip Shea 5:09

Matt Calvert 5:24

Mark McDonald 5:37

Tammy Bohan 6:45

Dave Johnson Route Error

Sam Murphy DNF

Brett Leake DNF


Scott Skokos 1:20 - Course Record!

Jairo Ramos 1:21

Eleno Vallejo 1:23

Peter Wysock 1:29

Tim Clausnitzer 1:29

Jeremy Crane 1:39

Kyle Ness 1:41

Jeff Hanson 1:44

Chris Quick 1:59

Jason Fischer 2:07

Tim Bohan 2:10

KCC v4_edited.jpg